If you’re going going, back back, to Cali Cali (sorry for the completely unrelated Notorious B.I.G. reference), then you’ll want to be familiar with a new law passed down by the Governator. I remembering hearing about a law that banned the use of handheld phones in California and now that has been extended into the realm of text messaging as well.
The California cell phone ban still allowed you to use Bluetooth headsets and similar handsfree devices for voice conversations. To my knowledge, if a police officer caught you with your hands holding a phone, that was enough to pull you over. In this way, saying that sending a text message while driving is illegal isn’t really necessary. Reading SMS messages while driving is also banned.
The fines don’t sound like much more than a slap on the wrist though. The first offense results in a $20 fine with subsequent violations racking up at $50 each.